Ribble Drive Community Primary School

Be the best you can be


Our early years setting follows the curriculum as outlined in the 2021 statutory framework of the EYFS. The EYFS framework includes 7 areas of learning and development that are equally important and inter-connected. However, 3 areas known as the prime areas are seen as particularly important for igniting curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building children’s capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. The prime areas are:


  • Communication and language

  • Physical development

  • Personal, social and emotional development


The prime areas are strengthened and applied through 4 specific areas:


  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the world

  • Expressive arts and design


We aim to create an attractive and stimulating learning environment where children feel confident, secure and challenged. Staff plan activities and experiences for children that enable children to develop and learn effectively. We follow a blended approach in our curriculum. This involves creating a curriculum that is knowledge based, focusing on what we want our children to know and do. This then runs alongside planning in the moment which is done through continuous provision, to develop the unique child and follow children’s individual skills and interests.


  • Phonics is taught daily using the initiative Read Write Inc. Please see our Phonics Curriculum page for more information.

  • We introduce maths concepts through play experiences and through some short, adult led sessions.

  • We plan using all areas, including outdoors. Staff consider the individual needs, interests, and stage of development of each child in their care, and use this information to plan a challenging and enjoyable experience.


EYFS Policy